Dairy Free is the Way to Be!

Since finding out I was sensitive to dairy products, I have been exploring numerous alternatives.  I wanted to share some of my favorites with you!
(link) Almond milk has been my favorite alternative to milk so far.  And I’ve tried several: rice, soy, almond, and coconut.  I try to keep unsweetened ‘Original’ and ‘Vanilla’ on hand.  Original is a great substitute for milk in any savory meals I make.  I like to have the Vanilla on hand for my coffee, oatmeal, and any desserts I make.  The almond milk nutritional stats are great (per serving): Calories-45, Calcium-30% of daily, Sugar-0 grams, Total Fat-3.5 g (5% daily). In my opinion AM is trumps dairy milk with it’s nutritional  stats!  Dairy (per serving): Calories-122, Calcium-29% of daily, Sugar-12 grams, Total Fat-5 g (7% daily)
(link) It took me a while to find something I could use as a substitute for butter.  Previous to finding the earth balance spread I used Olive or Coconut oil for a substitute in recipes and treats.  But now if I want butter’s texture/creaminess I use earth balance.  The spread is gluten free, soy free, and vegan.  Ingredients: Expeller pressed oils, natural flavor, pea protein, sunflower lecithin, lactic acid, and naturally extracted annatto for color.  
(link) For coconut lovers this is a great substitute to yogurt.  My favorite way to serve it is with granola, raspberries, and chocolate chips!
For some special cheese substitutes I like these recipes for Parmesan Cheeze and Vegan Cheeze Sauce.  Nothing will be as rich and creamy as the real thing but these are some great alternatives for the dairy free or vegan palette.  
Leave a Reply

