The Gold of Michigan

I can’t even explain how much fun my family has going mushroom hunting.  Spending time out in the woods, searching our secret spots, finding that first mushroom of the year!!  When I tell people about mushroom hunting they think I’m crazy to get so excited about some wild mushrooms.  But they haven’t tasted these precious gems, delicious in eggs, dipped in flour and sauteed in butter, or in my favorite bacon & corn chowder. Just look at these beauties, we found 23 on our first trip, in previous years we have found more than 100!!
 The smallest one was smaller than my pinkie.
 We ate them right away, no sharing this time…Hopefully many more weeks of mushroom hunting to come.  And maybe some secret recipes for you!!

Leave a Reply

